Search Site
Menu
Minor Drug Lawyers

Dallas Minor Drug and DUI/DWI Defense Attorneys

A conviction on your minor’s record for being in possession of alcohol or drugs or a minor DUI/DWI can have a major impact on your child’s life, including your child’s future and their ability to get a specific type of job or get into a university or obtain a higher level of education. If your child has been charged with minor in possession of alcohol, minor in possession of drugs, open container or possession of paraphernalia – or if your child has been arrested for any crime – it is advisable and important that you take prompt legal action and secure competent legal criminal representation for your child, one that can negotiate the best deal possible, before the criminal record becomes irreparable. Keep in mind that some people may tell you that as a minor, the charge will not show up, but in most cases, that comment is simply not true and you may need to expunge the record that was created. Our expert minor drug lawyers & minor DUI defense attorneys will be there to analyze the situation, the charge, the impact of the charge and the expungement of any record, and we will be there ready to help you and your child, every step of the way.

Hiring a qualified attorney early on in the process can mean the difference between your child having a permanent record that can be found on-line or through record checks, which if searchable, will affect your child for the life of their life. In most cases there are things that a minor in possession attorney can do to mitigate and assist your child’s defense and which can also help avoid the negative consequences of a conviction and a permanent record.

Hiring an attorney who understands minor conviction consequences, one who will work with the district attorney (DA) or the prosecutor to make sure that your child gets the best possible deal, can mean the difference between your child having a conviction that remains visible and reportable versus one where the charges may be dismissed or diverted, and which will mean the difference between getting into a good school or not, or even securing a good job, or not.

The attorneys at our law firm have significant experience defending students in high school and in college who have been charged with a crime including DUI/DWI. In most cases, a minor or student having been charged with a crime can lead to suspension from school or alternative schooling. Our experienced attorneys will seek an outcome that will have the least negative impact on your child’s life and future, allowing him or her to be able to move forward in life without having a “scaring” criminal record.

If you would like to speak to one of our minor criminal defense attorneys serving Dallas, Plano, Denton, Frisco, Allen, Texas and who handles cases involving minor in possession of alcohol, minor in possession drugs or possession of paraphernalia, please contact us at Goldstein & Scopellite, PC at 469-470-4929 at our Addison, Texas office or please contact us online today.

best TEXAS MINOR IN POSSESSION DEFENSE ATTORNEYS serving denton, dallas, collin county

In Texas, the possible penalties for a minor in possession or an alcohol or drug related conviction include:

  • Possession of a controlled substances
    • Minimum Punishment: Confinement in jail (juvenile justice facility) for a term of not more than 180 days, a fine not to exceed $2,000 or both;
    • Maximum Punishment: Confinement in TDC for life or for a term of not more than 99 years nor less than 10 years, and a fine not to exceed $250,000. Sentencing would be to TYC;
    • Driver’s License Suspension
  • Possession of Marihuana
    • Minimum Punishment: Confinement in jail (juvenile justice facility) for a term of not more than 180 days, a fine not to exceed $2,000 or both;
    • Maximum Punishment: Confinement in TDC for life or for a term of not more than 99 years nor less than 5 years, and a fine not to exceed $50,000. Sentencing would be to TYC;
    • Driver’s License Suspension
  • Possession of Paraphernalia
    Class C Misdemeanor – Maximum $500.00 fine
  • Consumption of Alcohol by a Minor
    Sections 106.04, 106.071, and 106.115, Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code, provide that the offense of consumption of alcohol by a minor is punishable as a Class C misdemeanor and attendance at an alcohol awareness program, and where the person has been previously convicted twice for an alcohol-related offense by a minor, the punishment is a fine of not less than $250 or more than $2000; confinement in jail (depends on age for age for where incarcerated) for a term not to exceed 180 days; or both the fine and confinement; community service of 8 to 40 hours; suspension of Texas Driver’s License or permit for 30 to 180 days and attendance at an alcohol awareness program.
  • Possession of Alcohol by a Minor
    Sections 106.05, 106.071, and 106.115, Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code, provide that the possession of alcohol by a minor is punishable as a Class C misdemeanor and attendance at an alcohol awareness program, and where the person has been previously convicted twice for an alcohol-related offense by a minor, the punishment is a fine of not less than $250 or more than $2000; confinement in jail (depends on age for age for where incarcerated) for a term not to exceed 180 days; or both the fine and confinement; community service of 8 to 40 hours; suspension of Texas Driver’s License or permit for 30 to 180 days and attendance at an alcohol awareness program.
  • Open Container
    Same as Minor in Possession
  • Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol by Minor
    • First Offense – Class C Misdemeanor – $500.00; Alcohol Awareness Classes
    • Possible Driver’s License Suspension
    • A minor who is not a child and twice convicted – $500.00 to $2,000.00 and not more than 180 days in jail (depends on age for age for where incarcerated) or both; plus community service and alcohol awareness classes;
    • Possible Driver’s License Suspension.

In Arizona, the possible penalties for a minor in possession or an alcohol or drug related conviction include:

  • Possession of a controlled substances
    Varies widely depending on the substance involved. The punishment ranges from a Class 1 felony to a Class 6 felony (w/Class 1 misdemeanor possibility). Most possession offenses will fall within Class 4, 5, or 6 felonies.
  • Possession of Marihuana
    • Class 6 felony (w/Class 1 misdemeanor possibility)
    • Class 6 felony: Mitigated: .33 years to Aggravated: 2 years
    • Class 1 Misdemeanor: up to 6 months in jail/up to $2500.00 fine
  • Possession of Paraphernalia
    • Class 6 felony (w/Class 1 misdemeanor possibility)
    • Class 6 felony: Mitigated: .33 years to Aggravated: 2 year
    • Class 1 Misdemeanor: up to 6 months in jail/up to $2500.00 fine
  • Consumption of Alcohol by a Minor
    Class 2 Misdemeanor: up to four months
  • Possession of Alcohol by a Minor
    Class 1 Misdemeanor: up to 6 months in jail/up to $2500.00 fine
  • Open Container
    Class 1 Misdemeanor: up to 6 months in jail/up to $2500.00 fine
  • Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol by Minor
    • Class 1 Misdemeanor: up to 6 months in jail/up to $2500.00 fine
    • 1st violation up to 180 days driver’s license suspension

At Goldstein & Scopellite, PC, our minor in possession of alcohol attorneys, minor in possession of drug attorneys, possession of paraphernalia attorneys open container attorneys and DWI/DUI attorneys can help determine if your child’s case can be dismissed, the charges can be dropped, whether or not deferred or diversion of disposition is a possibility and they will look at all of the evidence and defenses in order to determine if alternative negotiations are advisable, versus going to trial.

If your child’s case requires a plea, in some cases an order dismissing the conviction can be negotiated. If this occurs, your child’s record may be able to be non-disclosed but this process is complicated and requires a court order granting same. If the court approves the non-disclosure, the court will order the record removed.

Consequences of Possession Charges for Non-U.S. Citizens

If you are not a U.S. citizen, the option of a plea deal for deferred and/or dismissal of your case will not mean that you do not have a record or that you do not have to disclose it to USCIS, for under immigration law, it is still a conviction no matter if you received deferred adjudication or not and no matter if your case was non-disclosed or not (this includes expunctions as well). That is why it is very important to seek the assistance of a qualified and experienced immigration lawyer who can take early actions to make sure that if you plea, that plea negotiated will be one that will allow you to be eligible for future immigration benefits.

Contact a qualified minor or student criminal attorney who can assist in your or your child’s defense; serving the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex

To learn more about the approach of minor in possession attorneys or DWI/DUI lawyers in defending underage drinking or possession of drug charges, please contact our criminal defense attorneys at Goldstein & Scopellite, PC at 469-470-4929 in Addison, Texas conveniently serving Dallas, Plano, Frisco and Denton. We may also be contacted online.

Contact us

Please fill out the form below and one of our attorneys will contact you.

Quick Contact Form

Our Offices
  • Addison Office
    15455 Dallas Parkway
    Suite 725
    Addison, Texas 75001
    Phone: 214-351-9100
    Fax: 214-351-2889