Dallas Minor Drug & DUI Defense Attorneys

A conviction for minor in possession of alcohol or drugs can have a major impact on your child’s life, including your child’s future. If your child has been charged with minor in possession of alcohol, minor in possession of drugs, open container or possession of paraphernalia – or if your child has been arrested for any crime – it is advisable and important that you take prompt action and secure competent legal representation for your child, before the criminal record becomes irreparable. Our expert Dallas minor drug lawyers & minor DUI defense attorneys are ready to help you.

Hiring a qualified attorney involved early on in the process can mean the difference between your child having a permanent record that can be found on-line or through record checks, for the life of your child. In most cases there are things that a minor in possession attorney can do to mitigate and assist in your child’s defense and which can help avoid the negative consequences of a conviction and a permanent record.

Hiring an attorney who understands conviction consequences, one who will work with the district attorney or the prosecutor to make sure that your child gets the best deal, can mean the difference between your child having a conviction versus having the charges dismissed altogether, which will mean the difference between getting into a good school or not, or even securing a good job, or not.

The attorneys at our law firm have significant experience defending high school students and college students who have been charged with a crime including DUI. In most cases, a minor or student having been charged with a crime can lead to suspension from school or alternative schooling. Our experienced attorneys will seek an outcome that will have the least negative impact on your or your child’s life and future, allowing him or her to move forward in life without having a criminal record.

If you would like to speak to one of our minor defense attorneys in Dallas, Texas or Tucson, Arizona who handles cases involving minor in possession of alcohol, minor in possession drugs or possession of paraphernalia, please contact one of our qualified attorneys at Goldstein & Scopellite, PC at 214-351-9100 in Dallas, Texas or 520-226-4302 in Tucson, Arizona. Or please contact us online today.

Dallas, Texas Minor in Possession Defense Attorneys or DUI Attorneys / Tucson, Arizona Minor in Possession Defense Attorneys or DUI Attorneys

In Texas, the possible penalties for a minor in possession or an alcohol or drug related conviction include:

  • Possession of a controlled substances
    • Minimum Punishment: Confinement in jail (juvenile justice facility) for a term of not more than 180 days, a fine not to exceed $2,000 or both;
    • Maximum Punishment: Confinement in TDC for life or for a term of not more than 99 years nor less than 10 years, and a fine not to exceed $250,000. Sentencing would be to TYC;
    • Driver’s License Suspension
  • Possession of Marihuana
    • Minimum Punishment: Confinement in jail (juvenile justice facility) for a term of not more than 180 days, a fine not to exceed $2,000 or both;
    • Maximum Punishment: Confinement in TDC for life or for a term of not more than 99 years nor less than 5 years, and a fine not to exceed $50,000. Sentencing would be to TYC;
    • Driver’s License Suspension
  • Possession of Paraphernalia
    Class C Misdemeanor – Maximum $500.00 fine
  • Consumption of Alcohol by a Minor
    Sections 106.04, 106.071, and 106.115, Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code, provide that the offense of consumption of alcohol by a minor is punishable as a Class C misdemeanor and attendance at an alcohol awareness program, and where the person has been previously convicted twice for an alcohol-related offense by a minor, the punishment is a fine of not less than $250 or more than $2000; confinement in jail (depends on age for age for where incarcerated) for a term not to exceed 180 days; or both the fine and confinement; community service of 8 to 40 hours; suspension of Texas Driver’s License or permit for 30 to 180 days and attendance at an alcohol awareness program.
  • Possession of Alcohol by a Minor
    Sections 106.05, 106.071, and 106.115, Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code, provide that the possession of alcohol by a minor is punishable as a Class C misdemeanor and attendance at an alcohol awareness program, and where the person has been previously convicted twice for an alcohol-related offense by a minor, the punishment is a fine of not less than $250 or more than $2000; confinement in jail (depends on age for age for where incarcerated) for a term not to exceed 180 days; or both the fine and confinement; community service of 8 to 40 hours; suspension of Texas Driver’s License or permit for 30 to 180 days and attendance at an alcohol awareness program.
  • Open Container
    Same as Minor in Possession
  • Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol by Minor
    • First Offense – Class C Misdemeanor – $500.00; Alcohol Awareness Classes
    • Possible Driver’s License Suspension
    • A minor who is not a child and twice convicted – $500.00 to $2,000.00 and not more than 180 days in jail (depends on age for age for where incarcerated) or both; plus community service and alcohol awareness classes;
    • Possible Driver’s License Suspension.

In Arizona, the possible penalties for a minor in possession or an alcohol or drug related conviction include:

  • Possession of a controlled substances
    Varies widely depending on the substance involved. The punishment ranges from a Class 1 felony to a Class 6 felony (w/Class 1 misdemeanor possibility). Most possession offenses will fall within Class 4, 5, or 6 felonies.
  • Possession of Marihuana
    • Class 6 felony (w/Class 1 misdemeanor possibility)
    • Class 6 felony: Mitigated: .33 years to Aggravated: 2 years
    • Class 1 Misdemeanor: up to 6 months in jail/up to $2500.00 fine
  • Possession of Paraphernalia
    • Class 6 felony (w/Class 1 misdemeanor possibility)
    • Class 6 felony: Mitigated: .33 years to Aggravated: 2 year
    • Class 1 Misdemeanor: up to 6 months in jail/up to $2500.00 fine
  • Consumption of Alcohol by a Minor
    Class 2 Misdemeanor: up to four months
  • Possession of Alcohol by a Minor
    Class 1 Misdemeanor: up to 6 months in jail/up to $2500.00 fine
  • Open Container
    Class 1 Misdemeanor: up to 6 months in jail/up to $2500.00 fine
  • Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol by Minor
    • Class 1 Misdemeanor: up to 6 months in jail/up to $2500.00 fine
    • 1st violation up to 180 days driver’s license suspension

At Goldstein & Scopellite, PC our minor in possession of alcohol attorneys, minor in possession of drug attorneys, possession of paraphernalia attorneys open container attorneys and DUI attorneys can help determine if your child’s case can be dismissed, the charges can be dropped, whether or not deferred or diversion of disposition is a possibility and they will look at all of the evidence and defenses in order to determine if alternative negotiations are advisable, versus going to trial.

If your child’s case requires a plea, in some cases an order dismissing the conviction can be negotiated. If this occurs, your child’s record may be able to be non-disclosed but this process is complicated and requires a court order granting same. If the court approves the non-disclosure, the court will order the record removed.

Consequences of Possession Charges for Non-U.S. Citizens

If you are not a U.S. citizen, the option of a plea deal for deferred and/or dismissal of your case will not mean that you do not have a record or that you do not have to disclose it to USCIS, for under immigration law, it is still a conviction no matter if you received deferred adjudication or not and no matter if your case was non-disclosed or not (this includes expunctions as well). That is why it is very important to seek the assistance of a qualified and experienced immigration lawyer who can take early actions to make sure that you will be eligible for future immigration benefits.

Contact a Qualified Minor Attorney or Student Lawyer who can Assist in your Child’s Defense; Serving the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex and the Tucson Metroplex

To learn more about the approach or minor in possession attorneys or DUI lawyers that in defending underage drinking or possession of drug charges, please contact our criminal defense attorneys at Goldstein & Scopellite, PC at 214-351-9100 in Dallas, Texas and at 520-226-4302 in Tucson, Arizona. We may also be contacted online.